肝病

 

肝病是全球主要健康问题之一,肝硬化和肝癌导致每年全球200万人死亡。过去,肝脏疾病的常见原因是乙型肝炎(HBV),丙型肝炎(HCV)和酒精性肝炎。其他较不常见的肝病包括自身免疫性肝炎(AIH),原发性胆源性胆管炎(PBC),原发性硬化性胆管炎(PSC),威尔逊氏病(Wilson diease)等。然而在过去的几年里,世界各地的医生都发现患有非酒精性脂肪肝(NAFLD)的人数有显著地增加,在一些国家中甚至有多达40%的人口患有非酒精性脂肪肝。

令人担心的是有许多患者在肝脏疾病的早期阶段没有任何症状, 他们感觉良好正常,但其中大一部分患者会演变为肝硬化,肝癌和甚至肝衰竭。幸好, 早期诊断和治疗可以非常有效地控制肝脏疾病, 并延长患者寿命,但是这些治疗方法最好由熟悉肝脏的专家指导。在某些患有肝衰竭或肝癌的病人,肝移植可能是治愈的唯一希望。

 

许多患有早期肝病的患者(例如慢性乙型肝炎/丙型肝炎或脂肪肝)不会感到不适,只可能在健康检查期间偶然发现他们的肝脏问题。未经治疗,这些患者中有30%至40%会发展为肝硬化和肝衰竭。一旦发生肝功能衰竭,患者将遭受身体积水的问题(腹部和/或腿部肿胀),黄疸(皮肤和眼睛发黄),肝性脑病(意识模糊或昏迷)或静脉曲张破裂出血(呕吐或大便中流血)。肝硬化患者每年有6-7%的患肝癌的风险。肝癌通常在早期是无痛的,许多早期肝癌患者除非定期进行检查,否则不会意识到这一问题。如果及时发现,早期肝癌可以治愈。

Liver Diseases

Liver disease is a major health problem worldwide, with liver hardening (cirrhosis) and liver cancer causing more than 2 million deaths globally each year. In the past, common causes of liver disease are hepatitis B virus (HBV), hepatitis C virus (HCV) and excessive alcohol consumption. Less common diagnoses are autoimmune hepatitis (AIH), primary biliary cholangitis (PBC), primary sclerosing cholangitis (PSC), Wilson’s disease, etc. However, doctors around the world are seeing an increase in people suffering from non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD), which affects up to 40% of population in many countries.

 

While many patients feel well and normal in the early stage of their liver disease, a significant percentage can develop liver hardening, liver cancer and liver failure. For some patients, medications or procedures can very effectively help to control their liver disease and prolong life, but these treatments are best guided by expert liver specialists familiar with managing liver conditions. In some patients, despite best medications or procedures, liver failure or liver cancer such as hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC) may still develop. In this case, liver transplant may be the only hope for cure.  

 

Many patients with early stage liver disease such as chronic hepatitis B/C or fatty liver do not feel sick, and only discover their liver problem accidentally during health screening. Without treatment, 30% to 40% of these patients will progress to liver hardening and liver failure. Once liver failure occurs, patients would suffer from water retention (abdomen and/or leg swelling), jaundice (yellow skin and eyes), hepatic encephalopathy (confusion or coma) or variceal bleeding (vomiting of blood or passing out blood in stool). In patients with liver hardening, there is a 6-7% yearly risk of growing liver cancer. Liver cancer is usually painless in early stages and many patients with early stage liver cancer are not aware of the problem unless they go for regular scans. Early stage liver cancer can be cured if discovered promptly.  

©2019 by PS Tan Digestive & Liver Centre.