肠道微生物组

人体中微生物与我们自己的细胞数量大致相同,或甚至更多。根据科学家最近的估算,我们拥有约39-100万亿个微生物,而人类细胞则为30万亿!这些微生物大多数生活在我们的肠道中,属于数百种不同的种类。每个人都有自己独特的肠道微生物组,就像我们的指纹一样独特。

我们的肠道微生物组对我们的健康起重要作用,并已多种疾病有关,例如癌症,消化系统疾病,肝病,湿疹和肥胖症。因此,改变我们的肠道微生物组可能有助于治疗与其相关的疾病。实际上,肠道微生物组移植已在现实世界中使用,可有效治疗艰难梭菌(Clostridioides difficile)感染。益生菌也通常用于治疗改善肠道微生物组, 以治疗肠易激综合症(Irritable bowel syndrome)。

我们的诊所能为您提供肠道微生物组分析评估,以帮助您更了解自身肠道和身体的健康状况, 并由陈医生为您提供改善饮食和生活方式的建议改善肠道和身体的健康。

请致电与我们预约。

Gut microbiome and health

Why is it useful for people to get their microbiome analysed?
Our body has roughly the same if not more microbes than our own cells. Recent estimation by scientists has shown that we have around 39-100 trillion microbes compared with 30 trillion human cells! Most of these microbes live in our gut and belong to hundreds of distinct species. Each human has his or her own unique microbiome composition, much like our fingerprint, if we can analyse and profile them.

 

Our microbiome likely plays an important role in our health and has been found to be associated with several diseases such as cancer, digestive disease, liver disease, eczema and obesity. Hence, altering our microbiome could be useful in treating diseases linked to it. In fact, fecal microbiome transplant is being used in real world and highly effective to treat C. difficile infection when standard treatment fails. Probiotics are also commonly prescribed to patients with irritable bowel syndrome.

 

Our microbiome also changes in response to our diet and lifestyle, so by knowing our own microbiome composition, we could take a proactive approach to modify it by consuming the right food and drink for a healthier gut and body. 

Our clinic is proud to offer a gut microbiome evaluation and diet advice to help you to achieve a healthier you. Call now to make an appointment with us.

©2019 by PS Tan Digestive & Liver Centre.